Skip Navigation

WE ARE MOVING: Please note that from April 20, 2021 onwards, the Clinique Dr Maxime Goyette will move to the Central Market.

FAQ about Varicose Vein Treatments in Montreal

WHAT ARE THE POSSIBLE COMPLICATIONS AFTER TREATMENT FOR VARICOSE VEINS?

In general, treatments for varicose veins have a very low rate of complications. As far as injections are concerned, the most feared complications are allergy to the drug (rare), phlebitis (rare) and intra-arterial injection (also rare).

 

For endovenous laser or phlebectomy procedures, you will also be advised of the risks of localized numbness in the event of sensitive nerve damage (infrequent) and the risk of bleeding (rare).

 

Superficial reddish venules may appear during the treatment of larger varicose veins. These will be subsequently treated with superficial injections.

ARE THERE ANY RESTRICTIONS ON PHYSICAL ACTIVITY DURING THE TREATMENTS?

Immediately after treatment for superficial varicose veins, there is no contraindication to continuing with your regular physical activities. For treatments of wider varicose veins, we will recommend you to refrain from doing strenuous sports activities for the week following the treatment, such as jogging, tennis, etc. On the other hand, regardless of the treatment you have received, walking is always indicated, and is even favorable for healing.

HOW MANY TREATMENTS WILL BE REQUIRED?

The number of sessions obviously varies depending on the extent of the varicose vein disease. Each treatment plan is individualized for each patient. A majority of patients will need injections only, spread over several sessions. Others will need needle phlebectomy or endovenous laser ablation, in the case of an incompetent saphenous vein, for instance.

HOW DOES AN INJECTION SESSION GO?

Treatments last about ten minutes on an average, and the number of injections varies depending on the problem being treated.

ARE THE TREATMENTS PAINFUL?

For most people, the answer is no. The injections are subcutaneously administered, like during blood tests. When the product is injected, you can sometimes feel a little momentary burning sensation.

WHAT IS A VARICOSE VEIN?

The circulatory system is made up of two types of blood vessels, arteries and veins, which form a continuous network. Thus, the oxygenated blood is pumped by the heart via the arteries to the extremities of the body, it then returns to the heart via the venous network.

 

The contraction of the muscles of the lower limbs allows blood to flow back to the region of the heart. For example, when walking or running, they contract and exert natural pressure on the veins, pushing blood up the body. However, when the muscles are resting, blood tends to flow naturally down the body. Fortunately, the veins have one-way valves that only open when blood returns to the heart.

 

Weakness of the network

If, for various reasons, some valves are damaged, blood can no longer flow in just one direction. The blood stream then flows naturally down the body, causing congestion and dilation in the diseased vein and its collateral branches. This condition is called venous insufficiency. Over time, the vein can become irreversibly deformed and become an apparent varicose vein.

 

How varicose veins look

Varicose veins are sinuous and swollen. They can be skin-colored, blue or green, and can appear anywhere on the legs. Up to 40% of women and 20% of men suffer from symptoms caused by varicose veins. After they reach their 50s, one out of two people will have varicose veins.

WHAT ARE THE SYMPTOMS ASSOCIATED WITH VARICOSE VEINS?

The symptoms can manifest themselves in many forms:
 

Itching

Rashes

Pain

Swelling

Feeling of heaviness or fatigue in the lower limbs

Brownish discoloration of the skin

WHY SHOULD YOU SEEK TREATMENT FOR VARICOSE VEINS?

In addition to being painful and unsightly, varicose veins could inevitably get worse over time and cause major health problems. Here are the main medical complications that can occur if venous insufficiency is left untreated:
 

Varicose ulcer
Skin pigmentation, eczema
Bleeding
Phlebitis and pulmonary embolism

WHEN YOU REMOVE A VARICOSE VEIN, WHAT HAPPENS WITH BLOOD CIRCULATION AFTER ITS REMOVAL?

In a varicose vein, blood flows in the wrong direction and stagnates, apart from bringing in its share of potential complications. This is why a varicose vein is a burden on venous circulation. Fortunately, the healthy veins around a varicose vein tend to adapt naturally and allow efficient blood circulation regardless. Thus, when we remove a varicose vein, we are actually removing an incompetent vein, and we force the blood to flow only through the healthy veins.

WHAT IS PHLEBITIS?

Phlebitis or thrombophlebitis is an inflammatory condition that occurs inside a vein and leads to the formation of a clot. Sometimes there are very few symptoms and it gets detected very late. However, superficial phlebitis usually manifests itself as a red, painful cord below the surface of the skin.

WHAT ARE THE RISK FACTORS?

Heredity

Excess weight
Pregnancy
Prolonged periods standing
Trauma
Phlebitis

DO VARICOSE VEINS COME BACK OVER TIME?

Venous insufficiency is a chronic condition, that is, it constantly continues to evolve over time. New varicose veins can appear at any time during your life. From one individual to another, the degree of severity of the disease can vary widely. It depends on the risk factors that affect you. This is why it is recommended to get regular medical check-ups done.

WHAT IS TRADITIONAL STRIPPING SURGERY?

This surgery involves ligation and removal of the diseased saphenous vein on a metal wire using at least two incisions. It is performed under general or epidural anesthesia. More invasive than the endovenous laser technique, this technique is increasingly losing traction among medical professionals. In fact, it gives rise to more postoperative pain, and the convalescence period is more difficult. However, it continues to be the only procedure covered by the Régie de l'Assurance-maladie du Québec (RAMQ). If this technique turns out to be the only possible option, the patient is advised to get the surgical procedure performed in a hospital.

Contact Details

Clinique De Varices Dr Maxime Goyette
10690, avenue Péloquin (local 200),
Montreal, Quebec

H2C 2K3

Opening Hours

Monday to Thursday - 8 AM - 6 PM

Friday - 8 AM - 4 PM

Saturday - Closed

Sunday - Closed

Service Area

  • Montreal

Created by

Legal notice

Quelles sont les complications possibles après un traitement de varices?

D’une manière générale, les traitements de varices ont un très faible taux de complications.

Pour les injections, les complications les plus craintes sont l’allergie au médicament (rare), la phlébite (rare) et l’injection intra-artérielle (rare également).

Pour les interventions au laser endoveineux ou en phlébectomie, on vous avisera également des risques d’engourdissement localisé en cas de lésion nerveuse sensitive (peu fréquente) et des risques de saignements (rare).

Il peut arriver que des veinules rougeâtres superficielles apparaissent durant le traitement de varices plus volumineuses. Celles-ci sont traitées par injection superficielle par la suite.

Y a-t-il des restrictions au niveau des activités physiques pendant les traitements?

Immédiatement après un traitement de varices superficielles, il n’y a pas de contre-indication à pratiquer vos activités physiques régulières. Pour des traitements de varices plus larges, nous vous recommanderons de ne pas faire d’activités sportives intenses pendant la semaine qui suit le traitement, tels jogging, tennis, etc. Par contre, quel que soit le traitement que vous avez reçu, la marche est toujours indiquée, et est même favorable pour la guérison.

Combien de traitements seront nécessaires?

Le nombre de séances varie évidemment selon l’étendue de la maladie variqueuse. Chaque plan de traitement est individualisé selon chaque patient. Une majorité de patients auront besoin d’injections uniquement, sur plusieurs séances. D’autres auront besoin d’une phlébectomie à l’aiguille ou d’une ablation par laser endoveineux, dans le cas d’une veine saphène incompétente, par exemple.

Comment se déroule une séance d’injection?

Les traitements durent environ dix minutes en moyenne, et le nombre d’injections varie selon les problèmes rencontrés.

Est-ce que les traitements sont douloureux?

Pour la majorité des gens, la réponse est non. Les injections sont sous-cutanées, comme lors des prises de sang. Lorsque le produit est injecté, on peut parfois ressentir une petite sensation de brûlure momentanée.

varice

Qu’est-ce qu’une varice?

Le système circulatoire est composé de deux types de vaisseaux sanguins, les artères et les veines, qui forment un réseau continu. Ainsi, le sang oxygéné est pompé par le cœur via les artères vers les extrémités du corps, puis il retourne au cœur via le réseau veineux.

La contraction des muscles des membres inférieurs permet au sang de remonter jusqu’à la région du cœur. Par exemple, lors d’une marche ou d’une course, ceux-ci se contractent et exercent une pression naturelle sur les veines, propulsant ainsi le sang vers le haut du corps. Toutefois, lorsque les muscles sont au repos, le sang a tendance à descendre naturellement vers le bas du corps. Heureusement, les veines sont munies de valves à sens unique qui s’ouvrent uniquement lors du retour sanguin vers le cœur.

Faiblesse du réseau
Si, pour différentes raisons, certaines valves sont endommagées, le sang ne peut plus circuler en sens unique. Le flot sanguin s’écoule alors naturellement vers le bas du corps tout en occasionnant un phénomène de congestion et de dilatation dans la veine malade et ses branches collatérales. Cette condition s’appelle insuffisance veineuse. Avec le temps, la veine peut se déformer de façon irréversible et devenir une varice apparente.

Aspect des varices
Les veines variqueuses sont sinueuses et gonflées. Elles peuvent être couleur peau, ou encore bleues ou vertes et peuvent apparaître n’importe où sur les jambes. Jusqu’à 40 % des femmes et 20 % des hommes souffrent de symptômes causés par les varices. Passé l’âge de la cinquantaine, jusqu’à une personne sur deux auras des varices.

varice

Quels sont les symptômes associés aux varices?

Les symptômes peuvent prendre plusieurs formes :

  • Démangeaisons

  • Éruptions cutanées

  • Douleur

  • Enflure

  • Démangeaisons

  • Sensation de lourdeur ou de fatigue dans les membres inférieurs

  • Coloration brunâtre de la peau

Pourquoi traiter les varices?

En plus d’être douloureuses et disgracieuses, les veines variqueuses risquent inévitablement de s’aggraver avec le temps et de causer des problèmes de santé majeurs. Voici les principales complications médicales pouvant survenir en cas d’insuffisance veineuse non traitée :

  • Ulcère variqueux

  • Pigmentation de la peau, eczéma

  • Saignement

  • Phlébite et embolie pulmonaire

varice

Quand on élimine une veine variqueuse, comment se fait la circulation par la suite?

Dans une veine variqueuse, le sang circule à contre-sens, et stagne, en plus d’avoir son lot de complications potentielles. C’est pourquoi une veine variqueuse est un fardeau pour la circulation veineuse. Heureusement, les veines saines avoisinant une varice ont tendance à naturellement s'adapter et permettent à la circulation efficace de se faire malgré tout.
Ainsi, quand on enlève une varice, on enlève ainsi une veine incompétente, et on force le sang à passer uniquement par les bonnes veines.

fibre-laser introduite dans la veine d'un patient

Qu’est-ce qu’une phlébite?

Une phlébite ou thrombophlébite est un processus inflammatoire survenant à l’intérieur d’une veine et menant à la formation d’un caillot. Parfois, elles peuvent donner très peu de symptômes et être reconnues très tardivement. Cependant, une phlébite superficielle se présente habituellement avec un cordon rouge et douloureux sous la surface de la peau.

Quels sont les facteurs de risque?

  • L’hérédité

  • L’embonpoint

  • Les grossesses

  • La station debout prolongée

  • Les traumatismes

  • Les phlébites

Est-ce que les varices reviennent avec le temps?

L’insuffisance veineuse est une condition chronique, c’est-à-dire qu’elle continue sans cesse d’évoluer avec le temps. De nouvelles varices peuvent apparaître à tout moment au cours d’une vie. D’un individu à l’autre, le degré de gravité de la maladie peut varier grandement. Cela dépend des facteurs de risques qui vous affectent. C’est pourquoi il est recommandé de faire un suivi médical périodique.

Qu’est-ce que la chirurgie traditionnelle d’éveinage (« stripping »)?

Cette intervention chirurgicale consiste à ligaturer et à retirer la veine saphène malade sur un fil métallique à l’aide d’au moins deux incisions. Elle se pratique sous anesthésie générale ou épidurale. Plus invasive que la technique au laser endoveineux, cette technique perd de plus en plus de popularité au sein du corps médical. En effet, elle occasionne davantage de douleurs postopératoires, et implique une convalescence plus difficile. Elle demeure cependant la seule technique couverte par la régie de l’Assurance-maladie du Québec (RAMQ). Si cette technique s’avère la seule option possible, le patient est recommandé en milieu hospitalier.

Clinique De Varices

Dr Maxime Goyette  |  Dr Jacques Brunelle

  10690, avenue Péloquin (local 200), Montréal, (Québec) H2C 2K3

  Heures d'ouverture

Lundi 10:00 - 18:00

Mardi 10:00 - 18:00

Mercredi 10:00 - 18:00

Jeudi 10:00 - 18:00

Vendredi 08:00 - 16:00

Samedi Fermé

Dimanche Fermé

 Partager et suivre

Envoyer à un ami

Envoyer l'URL de cette page à un(e) de vos ami(e)s

Tous droits réservés Clinique De Varices 2019 - Mention légale
Création de

Mention legale